What is Friend Finder?
Friend Finder enables you to check the location of your friends and family members at any time without having you to keep calling them.
However, prior permission needs to be granted from your friends or family members before their location information can be made available to you via this service.
How do I find a friend?
To start looking for a friend, just send FIND
What is the maximum number of friends that I can track at one time?
The maximum number of friends that you can track at one time is 5 per SMS request by using the Multi-FIND feature.
To start using Multi Find feature, send keyword FIND followed by the mobile numbers or nicknames (if created) Eg. FIND <space> 01xxxxxxxx, 01xxxxxxxx, Jane, Kit09, 01xxxxxxxx
What is the maximum number of friends that I can add in my LIST/LIST OK?
You can add up to a maximum of 225 friends into your LIST/LIST OK.
Will I be informed if my friend deletes my permission from his/her LIST OK?
Yes. A SMS will be sent to you to inform that your friend has removed your permission from his/her LIST OK.
Your SMS :
01xxxxxxxx (nickname) has removed you from his/her LIST OK. To get a friend's permission, send FIND 01xxxxxxxx to 22001.
Will I still be able to find my friend’s location information after he/she deleted my number in his/her LIST OK?
No. Once your number (permission) is removed/deleted from your friend’s LIST OK, his/her location will not be made available to you until the friend grants you OK again.
When I try to find a friend’s location by sending FIND <space> 01xxxxxxxx to 22001, I get a reply from the Service that a "permission request is sent to my friend". What does this mean?
If this is the first time you are trying to find this particular friend, the system will process your permission request and send a SMS to your friend to grant you the OK.
Permission request has been sent to 01xxxxxxxx. Once he/she replies OK, you can find your friend by sending FIND 01xxxxxxxx to 22001.
Your friend’s SMS:
Your friend 01xxxxxxxx is seeking your permission to find you. To accept, reply with OK 01xxxxxxxx to 22001.
Will I be informed if my friend did not grant me the permission?
Yes. After the 3rd day of sending the permission request to your friend and has yet to receive an OK, you will receive a SMS from us. The permission request is then purged.
Hi! Your permission request to 01xxxxxxxx has expired. To repeat your request, send FIND 01xxxxxxxx to 22001.
I don’t want my location to be made available to a particular friend. What can I do?
You can block a particular friend in your LIST OK from checking your location. Just SMS BLOCK <space> 01xxxxxxxx to 22001
During this period of time, your location information is made available to your other friends except for friends that you have blocked.
You have blocked 01xxxxxxxx (nickname). Your loc info will not be available to him/her until you send UNBLOCK 01xxxxxxxx (nickname) to 22001.
To resume your location availability to your particular friend, just send UNBLOCK 01xxxxxxxx (nickname) to 22001.
Will my friend know that I have blocked him/her from locating my whereabouts?
Yes. When your friend tries to find your location, he/she will be informed via SMS that you need to be left alone at this point in time.
Your friend’s SMS
Your friend wants his/her loc info to be made unknown. Call & invite your friend to be active in FF service again.
I don’t want my location to be made available to all my friends during a particular period of time. What should I do?
Just send HIDE <space> ON to 22001. You will receive a HIDE Mode confirmation message via SMS.
You are now in HIDE status. No loc info will be available to your friends until you send HIDE OFF to 22001.
To resume your location availability to your friends, send HIDE<space>OFF to 22001.
Will my friends be informed that I am in HIDE status?
Yes. When your friends try to find your location, he/she will be informed via SMS that your location info to be made unknown at this point in time.
In what scenario would I be able to find my friend(s) via Friend Finder Service?
|My Friend's Position||Availability of location result?|
|U Mobile Subscribers in Malaysia||Yes|
|Maxis Subscribers in Malaysia||Yes|
|DiGi / Celcom Subscribers in Malaysia||No|
|Domestic Roaming||When a friend that you are locating is roaming in another domestic carrier's network, there will be a message to inform you via SMS.
Scenario 1: Party A is roaming in Singapore and he/she will be able to find his/her friend(s) and family member(s) in Malaysia.
|BLOCK||Only friend(s) blocked by Party A will not be able to find his/her location.|
|Ported out to (Maxis)||Yes, provided that permission request is re-established.|
|Ported out to (Celcom/DiGi)||No|
How much do I need to pay for finding my friends?
Every successful location notification received is charged RM0.30 per SMS. Standard SMS charges of RM0.15 per SMS apply for every location requested. No charges will be imposed for failure to find the requested location.
Will I be charged for granting permission to my friends?
Yes. RM0.15 per SMS will be charged for granting permission to your friends.
Will I be able to find my friends/family members if their mobile phone is turned off or out of coverage?
No location information will be delivered in this scenario. However, you will be informed via a SMS :-
User's phone is switched off or out of coverage at this moment. Please try again later (E119).
How accurate is the location information received?
The location information accuracy is based on which telecommunication tower the recipient is close to at the time of the location search. The accuracy of the location is around a few hundred meters to a few kilometers.
How do I cancel the service?
Just send CANCEL YES to 22001. All your permissions in LIST and LIST OK will be removed.
Will I be able to find my friends if I have cancelled the service?
No. Once you have cancelled the Friend Finder service, all your permissions obtained will be removed. You will need to request permission from your friends to use this service again.
Will my friends be able to find me if I have cancelled the service?
No. Once you have cancelled the Friend Finder service, all your friends in LIST and LIST OK will be removed. Hence, your friends will not be able to find you.